Thursday, February 12, 2009

Sonic Youth Going Eternal

It's as official as these things ever get -- Sonic Youth will be releasing a new album, The Eternal, on June 9th of this year. If I understand my record business (and I certainly do not), that means a June 8th release for Europe and Australia. There's all kinds of interesting news in this press release:

The band co-produced The Eternal alongside veteran boardsman John Agnello, who also co-produced Rather Ripped. And as we reported last month, the band has been Twittering the whole recording process. Mark Ibold, formerly of Pavement, has been touring with the band for a while now, but this is his first album as a full-time member, playing with them in the studio and everything. And for the first time ever, Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon, and Lee Ranaldo share lead vocals on some songs. Matador also promises bonus material if you buy the album through their Buy Early Get Now program. Oh, and that album cover up there? It's a painting by none other than the late guitar legend John Fahey.
These are the titles of the new songs:
01 Sacred Trickster
02 Anti-Orgasm
03 Leaky Lifeboat (for Gregory Corso)
04 Antenna
05 What We Know
06 Calming The Snake
07 Poison Arrow
08 Malibu Gas Station
09 Thunderclap For Bobby Pyn
10 No Way
11 Walkin Blue
12 Massage The History
If I know my Sonic Youth divining techniques (and I certainly do not), "Sacred Trickster," "Anti-Orgasm," "Poison Arrow," and "Walkin Blue" promise to be standout songs on this release.

If this new album is even half as good as their last album, Rather Ripped, it will be four times as good as 93% of the albums already out there -- if I know my math and statistics (which I certainly do not).

No comments: